Residents and communities in regional, remote and rural Australia were today reminded to put forward their views to the independent Regional Telecommunications Review, with the deadline for written submissions less than a month away.

The Review, which is held every three years, enables people in these communities to tell the Australian Government about their experience using telecommunications.

Chair of the Regional Telecommunications Independent Review Committee, the Hon Luke Hartsuyker, said the Review was a chance for people living in these communities to help set the regional telecommunications agenda for coming years – and was an opportunity not to be missed.

“We are reminding people and local community organisations to make a submission to the Review, and to encourage the same from other people in their community,” Mr Hartsuyker said.

“We want to hear from you so that the recommendations provided to government adequately address community issues. Having a strong evidence base, through even the shortest submission, will help us deliver recommendations that will have the highest impact on policy makers.”

The Committee has already undertaken a series of valuable consultations online, speaking to communities from across Australia, with its final sessions scheduled over the coming weeks. “I encourage people to take advantage of these sessions and give their views directly to the Committee, and if they can’t get to a session, send in a written submission.”

Residents can provide a written submission in a number of ways, including via post, email, or by uploading your response to our consultation page. Over 160 people and organisations have already done so and made their voice heard. Submissions close Thursday 30 September 2021.

“These sessions, together with written submissions, will inform what is essentially a report card back to government on the state of play of regional communications,” Mr Hartsuyker said.

The Issues Paper, consultation dates, and details on how to make a submission can be found at Visit the website and register to participate in the virtual consultations. The Committee is due to report back to government by the end of the year.

The Committee is the Hon Luke Hartsuyker (Chair), Ms Sue Middleton, Ms Kristy Sparrow, Professor Hugh Bradlow, and Mr Michael Cosgrave. The Committee can also be contacted at:

Media contact

Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications | | +61 2 6271 1777

Note: Chair of the Committee, the Hon Luke Hartsuyker, is available for interview on the 2021 Regional Telecommunications Review. To arrange please email